The Anglican Church of St. Mark (ALEXANDRIA)
THIS SPECTACULAR CHURCH IS LOCATED IN TAHRIR SQUARE (al-Manshiya). Muhammad ‘Ali offered the land for the church to the Anglican community in the early nineteenth century. The church foundation stone was laid in 1839, but because of some difficulties, construction was delayed for fifteen years. In April 1855 it was finally consecrated by Bishop Samuel Cobat. On entering the church there is a small baptistery supported by four graceful columns. The reredos, located behind the altar, features a central panel with the crucifixion, two panels depicting St. David and St. Andrew to the left, and two panels with St. Patrick and St. George to the right. The apse has five stained glass windows that show Christ flanked by the four evangelists. An elaborately executed wooden pulpit stands to the left near the apse with a central figure of Christ in the front. The church boasts a large organ.